Does anyone here know how much I would pay for a ticket for driving with no insurance here in Corpus Christi, Texas?
Corpus Christi, TX
Hey, Christie of Corpus Christi, Texas. In Texas, like in most states, it is actually required for drivers to show some kind of proof that they can pay for any damages that they might cause in case they involve themselves in an accident. Most Texas drivers buy auto liability insurance for this purpose because this is actually the cheapest way. But the basic coverage may not be enough to guarantee enough financial protection for you and your car. The basic coverage in Texas is 20/40/15, which means that the law in Texas requires minimum coverage of $20,000 per injured person to a total of $40,000 for every person injured in an accident and $15,000 for the damages of property.
Now, when you buy an auto insurance policy, your insurance carrier will give you a proof-of-insurance card that you may show when asked by a law enforcement officer or if you’re going to register or renew your vehicle, or if you are getting or renewing your driver’s license or if you are having your car inspected.
If you are an uninsured motorist, and you are stopped by a traffic enforcement officer, Texas has corresponding penalties for this according to the state’s financial responsibility laws. For first offense, you may have to pay a fine of $175 to $350. The next convictions will be more of a hassle for you. You might pay from $350 to $1,000, and they could also suspend your driver’s license and impound your automobile.
So, Christie, I really suggest that you have your vehicle insured. It really comes in handy in times of need.